Help with 3D plot of displaced surface

Hey, there.

I just ran across this discussion, I feel I’m having the same problem mentioned here. I obtained some displacements in FEniCS and I’d like to have a 3dimensional plot with Paraview. I already have my 2d solution:

I tried by changing Surface to Volume but I get a void

Is this the correct way to go?

Thanks!

Please share your data

Excuse me, I’m new to this. Do you mean my .pvd?

your .pvd, but also other files associated with it, most likely .vtp, .vtu files…

displacements.pvd (175 Bytes)
displacements000000.vtu (4.3 KB)

This should do. Thanks!

Your data is a 2D plane, you cant Volume render a plane:

I implemented a small code in Python for another FEniCS program that I’m working on. In this case, It was easier to use numpy to obtain the displacements (see figure). My idea was to have something similar to this in Paraview. Is that possible?

This has nothing to do with volume rendering, its a 3D plot.

In any case, yes, you can create such rendering in ParaView although 3D plots is not what ParaView excels at.

However your data does not contain the data needed to create such a plot, but here is an example:

What else would I need to do this in Paraview? Which files? Thanks again

Its all about data. ParaView can create a 3D plot from a planar data if you have vectors that are orthogonal to the plane. This is not the case in the data you shared.

Okay, I think I have to read more on the implementation of this 3D plot. Thanks a lot!!

You data does have a “Displacement” vector data array. However, all the displacements appear to be in the plane of the data:

The Warp By Vector filter works fine on your data, it just produces a shift of the points in the negative x direction:

Note that there is also a Warp By Scalar filter if your data has only a single component (i.e., it is scalar data). It warps along a direction you define by a magnitude proportional to the scalar component.

1 Like