2D velocity streamlines look strange

Hi, could someone please help me with the following? I have a 2D velocity dataset:
velocity__vert_velocity_degree1__eps_0.0__nr_cells_1800.pvd (217 Bytes)

I am curious of the proper result of the StreamTracer filter, but so far I only obtained weird-looking images. For example, I get this. Is this how it should look like? I am a beginner to ParaView but this looks a bit odd:

It is true that the velocity field is circular like this, but a) why isn’t this just a line (it is a thick phase), b) why is the majority of the original field “gone”?
I tried with PointSource as well, then the result is just greyness:

Could someone help me with some hints how to obtain a decent-looking and informative streamline?

Thank you so much!
Nora

Please share your associated .vtu file as well

The .vtu file:

velocity__vert_velocity_degree1__eps_0.0__nr_cells_1800000000.vtu (129.9 KB)

As you said, your data has circular streamlines. Probably what is happening is that you are getting lots of streamlines on top of each other, and its rendering looks solid.

When I run streamlines on your data, I get something a bit different:

The default behavior of the Stream Tracer is to define a line along the diagonal of your data and then seed the streamlines with 1000 points along the streamline. 1000 is excessive in your case, so the first step would be to reduce the Resolution parameter. If I reduce the Resolution parameter to 100, I get this:

Now you can really see the streamlines. This might still be more than you really want, but you can further reduce the Resolution parameter to get fewer streamlines.