Advice on building paraview (superbuild??) for OpenFOAM runTimePostProcessing

Hello,

Recently I’ve been trying to use the runTimePostProcessing in OpenFOAM, and I cannot get any working paraview build out of the OpenFOAM packages. LLVM fails to build, so then no mesa/VTK/pv.

I’ve been using the superbuild for several years; I’m always able to get a working build, x86, ARM, graphics card/headless - great tool! So I tried build the OpenFOAM visualization module using an existing paraview superbuild:

export ParaView_DIR=/data/paraview/sb_5.7.0
/data/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-v2112/modules/visualization/Allwmake

But I just get the errors at the end of this post. I am not quite sure what “remotingCore” is, and I can’t figure out any flags I could use to build this component?

Any general advice on how best to get runTimePostProcessing working? Am I crazy trying to use an external superbuild for this? Superbuild options (graphic-less ARM64) are below for reference:

cmake -D CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/data/paraview/$pvVer
-Dmesa_USE_SWR=OFF
-DENABLE_llvm=ON
-DENABLE_pythondateutil=ON
-DENABLE_pythonsix=OFF
-DENABLE_numpy=OFF
-DENABLE_paraview=ON
-DENABLE_qt5=OFF
-DENABLE_python3=ON
-DENABLE_python=OFF
-DENABLE_osmesa=ON
-DENABLE_mpi=ON
-DUSE_SYSTEM_python3=ON
-DUSE_SYSTEM_mpi=ON ./paraview-superbuild/

CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:66 (find_package):
  Found package configuration file:

/data/paraview/5.7.0/lib/cmake/paraview-5.7/paraview-config.cmake

but it set ParaView_FOUND to FALSE so package "ParaView" is considered to
  be NOT FOUND.  Reason given by package:

Could not find the ParaView package with the following required components:
  RemotingCore.

Just download our binary release from : https://www.paraview.org/download/

For ARM64?

ParaView is not (officialy) compatible with ARM64.

In any case, try to follow the ParaView build guide instead of relying on external script to build ParaView: