Color imported lines by direction

Hi,
I’m new to Paraview but have searched for this topic.

I have a set of streamlines already generated by a different program, and save in vtk form. Paraview reads them in correctly. I would like to now use a tube filter and have the lines(tubes) colored by direction. It seems that Paraview can do this if you give it a velocity field and it generates the lines internally, but I don’t see how to do this if I’ve already generated the lines and am importing them.

Thank you!
Larry

If the velocities are not present in your generated streamlines, you are out of luck. ParaView can’t guess them.

You could compute the direction of each line, but that would require to use a programmable filter and implement it in Python.

I’m only interested in coloring by direction, which Paraview can (could) determine from each line segment my vtk file contains. Is that possible?

On the other hand, a programmable filter in Python doesn’t sound to hard - I’m new to Paraview, though, and have never done that. I’ll check the documentation but if there’s a particular place in the documentation you can point me to, that would help.

Thanks,
Larry

Mathieu

I’ve been trying to implement a Programmable Filter. My input is a vtk dataset that has both points and lines (so applying a Tube filter directly in the Paraview interface works).

I’m first trying to just recreate the creation of the tube filter in the programmable filter before I move on to trying to color the lines differently.
However I can’t get that to work. The code below execute without error but I don’t know how to output the result so that paraview displays it. That is, I know there should be something like

pdo.SetPoints(tubes)

but this is not correct (tubeFilter doesn’t produce points. But I’ve searched the web (and looked at paraview docs) and run out of guesses.

Thanks,
Larry

Mathieu,

Never mind - I found an obscure example somewhere that showed the answer to be: