Combine stress data from same mesh

Hi there,

I am quite new to Paraview, so go easy on me! :smile:
I have two d3plot files from LS-DYNA corresponding to the same mesh but with different material parameters. What I want to do is combine the stresses of both solutions into one and divide them element-wise, as to have a measure of how much larger the stresses of one of the solutions are with respect to the other. I appreciate any help provided and thanks in advance!

Hi,

After loading the two d3plot files, perform the following steps:

1. Select the two you have loaded while holding down the Ctrl key in the Pipeline Browser.
  2. Click Filters > Alphabtical > Append Attributes
  3. Click the Calculator icon calculator on the toolbar
  4. Write “your_material_name / your_material_name_1” and click Apply

I follow more or less what you say. If I try to plot the proportion of von-mises stresses I have to previously define it in the Calculator (d3plots apparently do not import von-mises stress), but Paraview just recognizes one “Stress_XX”, “Stress-YY” , etc, from one of the d3plots. I guess what I want to say I don´t quite understand how the Append Attributes works and sepparates the variables from both files. Which is the easy way to plot such a proportion? Thanks.

Paraview just recognizes one “Stress_XX”, “Stress-YY” , etc, from one of the d3plots.

Does it mean that ParaView cannot load “Stress_XX”, “Stress-YY”, etc., which should be contained in one of the d3plots files?

Is it possible to share those files? It is easier to understand the situation

Does it mean that ParaView cannot load “Stress_XX”, “Stress-YY”, etc., which should be contained in one of the d3plots files?

I mean that in “AppendAttributes1” there appears to be a single variable with this names. I guess this is related to this post, that both files have the stresses and strains with the same names and when appending only one of the two is taken.