Creating an animation

hello I am new to paraview and am trying to produce an animation from a group. When I select the group and set the required properties in the cell array status shown below and hit run in the top nothing happens. Can anyone tell me where am I going wrong and how can I get it working?
I am using PeleLM and it generates binary files as per my knowledge. I have group of plot files at different time steps. How can make an animation out of it?
Thanks a lot

Welcome to ParaView, @R_Surya_Narayan!

It looks like you are selecting all directories individually. When you do that, each timestep is opened as a separate dataset.

Instead, click on the entry plt_… and click OK. That should load your dataset as a time series.

Let us know if that doesn’t work.

@cory.quammen
thank you so much for your reply. I have selected the entire directory and have tried to hit run. But that doesn’t work. Maybe I have to do something with the animations tab to make it work!?

@cory.quammen Is it possible to manually create an animation from individual plots from the pipeline browser? I have painfully taken 20 of the 98 datasets and set the cell array status to ‘x-velocity’ in the dropdown at the top and when I vizualize each contour one by one, there seems to be a change in the plot. Have attached the image below:

Oh no, you don’t want to have to do that :slight_smile:

Make sure in the file open dialog that you are selecting just one item in the file browser, the plt_.. entry. Don’t select individual subdirectories.

@cory.quammen do you mean this procedure?

I have tried this. Once opened in the pipeline browser, I select the group and then apply the required property in the cell-array status (in my case x-velocity) and then hit the “run animation” in the top. It doesn’t change (and there is no animation!).

I just see the first plot of the plt.. group across the entire time domain. Maybe I am doing it wrong somewhere?