Different pipeline behavior in ParaView vs straight VTK

Hello,

I am working on a small ParaView plugin to read a custom data object and implement some filters on this data. My data objects extend vtkDataObject and my filters extend vtkAlgorithm. I am completely new to VTK and ParaView but I have managed to put together a small framework that allows ParaView to create my custom VTK object, read my data, and render the data on the screen.

Here is the snag. My custom VTK object contains member data that I would like to use down the pipeline. However, when my object is passed from my reader to my first filter I can see that the memory address has changed and the member data is no longer initialized and I have to perform an expensive re-initilization of the data before continuing. BUT when I recreate the same pipeline by hand in a simple C++ executable, the pipeline seems to work as I expected with the memory addresses matching and of course all member data is correct. I assumed that there may be a shallow copy happening so I even re-implemented the ShallowCopy method to copy my member data, only to later realize that the ShallowCopy was never called.

So my question is what does ParaView do differently between pipeline connections to pass data between filters and what can I do to make sure my data objects are correctly propagated?

I’m attempting to create a minimal example to reproduce this but this minimal plugin is not wrapped correctly by the client/server yet and ParaView cannot load it. (a problem I already fixed with my working plugin, I’m confident it is something I left out by mistake.)

Is that a custom vtkDataSet ? Which do you inherit ?

In any case, creating a new type of dataset correctly is really hard, although possible.

What kind of data are you trying to transfer ?

Hi Mathieu