Error when loading .foam file in Paraview

Hello everybody,

I am very new to OpenFOAM and Paraview.

Currently I try to simulate a 2D backward-facing step with OpenFOAM and do the postprocessing with Paraview.

I am using OpenFOAM v1912 with Docker on my MacBookPro from 2013 and Paraview 5.9.
When loading the .foam file in Paraview I get the following error:

ERROR: In /opt/glr/paraview/paraview-ci/build/superbuild/paraview/src/VTK/IO/Geometry/vtkOpenFOAMReader.cxx, line 5226
vtkOpenFOAMReaderPrivate (0x7fc1a7e32950): Error opening /Users/Daniel/Documents/OpenFOAM/BFS_DNS/constant/polyMesh/faces.gz: Can’t open. If you are trying to read a parallel decomposed case, set Case Type to Decomposed Case.

ERROR: In /opt/glr/paraview/paraview-ci/build/superbuild/paraview/src/VTK/Common/ExecutionModel/vtkExecutive.cxx, line 753
vtkPVCompositeDataPipeline (0x600003ce3f00): Algorithm vtkPOpenFOAMReader(0x7fc1a7cc3e30) returned failure for request: vtkInformation (0x600001ba9080)
Debug: Off
Modified Time: 1670090
Reference Count: 1
Registered Events: (none)
Request: REQUEST_DATA
FROM_OUTPUT_PORT: 0
ALGORITHM_AFTER_FORWARD: 1
FORWARD_DIRECTION: 0

But this only happens, when I increase the number of cells. If I have a relatively coarse mesh, I can load the .foam file and see the mesh and also the results. I didn’t make any options with decomposed mesh.

I already updated Paraview to the newest version but the error remains. Opening the .foam file on another machine doesn’t make any problems. It happens only on my laptop.

I read, that one can also use the foamToVTK command to create a file which can be opened in Paraview. But when executing this command I get the following error:
–> FOAM FATAL ERROR:
Cannot find file “points” in directory “polyMesh” in times “0” down to constant

From function virtual Foam::IOobject Foam::fileOperation::findInstance(const Foam::IOobject&, Foam::scalar, const Foam::word&) const