EvenlySpacedStreamlines2D not working properly

Hi,

I’m completely new in Paraview so let me first apologize if the problem I’m presenting is trivial.
I would like to represent a velocity field with streamlines in a plane, just as this picture I found in a similar work than mine: (My results come from Simscale)

After a bit of investigation I found that I had to use the filter EvenlySpacedStreamlines2D, first I placed a plane perpendicular with Z-axis with the tool Slice and then I used the filter Evenly… to recreate the top picture. No matter what option I change in the filter settings, the lines are poor and start/end not properly.

In a similar post (Evenly Spaced Streamlines 2D filter - streamlines ending too soon) I saw that this could be due to the plane not being perfectly perpendicular with the Z-axis, however, in my case I’m not rotating a non XY plane, I’m directly creating a XY plane. I still tryed to ensure the XY plane with the calculator, but I don’t know how to do it.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Marc

try to transform first your 3D velocity field to a 2D using the calculator filter and an expressions like this:
v_X*iHat + v_Y*jHat + 0 *kHat

where v is the 3D velocity field. Use then this new field as input to EvenlySpacedStreamlines2D

Thanks for your message.

I tried and no matter what setting I put (line distance …), the program crash after clying apply in the EvenlySpaced… filter.
I am using it in Windows with a good PC.

Marc

it is possible to share your data ?

Yes, but it’s very heavy. I am trying to put the XY plane at Z=0.01.
It is impossible to share it here as it shows an error message.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1lj8cDjMoc_OmdCS2Ghcm6V3jRQIcdl51?usp=sharing
I think you will have to ask permission, if this method is not suitable for you, just suggest one.

Thanks,

Marc

I see multiple files and none of them seems familiar to me. How should Ioad the data ?

You have to load the file case.foam in Paraview.