General design questions for plugins programming

Dear forum,

My name is Raffi Enficiaud, and I am developing a plugin in Paraview for brain data visualization. I am relatively new to Paraview/VTK and plugin developments, so please accept my apologies if my questions seem naive.

My question concern general design of a python programmable filter, and how to improve the user “experience” by making things faster and easier to interact with. Python obviously is not the fastest programming language, but this apart, I would like to have some better insights on how to shape the overall architecture of the plugin such that it scales better to computations and interactions.

Right now the pipeline looks like this:

1. some mesh
  2. python programmable filter

The python filter depends on:

1. the mesh upstream
  2. an external file (numpy array) that is transformed depending on the mesh
  3. some parameters that affect the processing performed by the plugin
  4. some parameters that affect the rendering of the plugin

the step 2 is the most time consuming, and ideally I want to avoid any recomputation that is unnecessary. Especially, I want to avoid reprocessing everything is the user change some visualization parameter from 3/ (for instance, he/she selects a specific trajectory or primitive that should be shown or hidden).

The processing is performed in numpy, so there are vtk<->numpy transformations I would like to keep as minimal as possible.

Here are some ideas, but I do not know how to achieve those. Any hint would be more than welcome:

• divide the plugin into 2 or 3: a processing plugin and a graphic primitive plugin. The questions are then:

• is it possible a plugin to output a numpy array, and this array being passed to downstream plugins?
    • if so, how do I name the array that is being passed downstream? how do I distinguish between the different sources of information?