GradientOfUnstructuredDataSet Filter versus Ansys Fluent

I want to compare the wall shear stress calculated directly from Ansys Fluent with the value that I can calculate from ParaView based on the derivative of the velocity vector obtained from the GradientOfUnstructuredDataSet Filter. I have noticed that the value obtained from Paraview seems 2.5 times lower overall but both follow the same pattern.

I am quite confident on the formulation of the WSS I use and I checked the ouputs of the GradientOfUnstructuredDataSet Filter. I compared the vorticity obtained from the filter with that computed on Ansys Fluent and I can see that Paraview once again underestimates the results compared to the CFD solver. I’m not an expert on finite elements, but I suppose that this has to do with the way the filter calculates de velocity vector field, any hint of what could I do alternatively would be of great help. I attach an image with the WSS and vorticity values obtained.

Kind regards,
Xabier

@Kenneth_Moreland

To be honest, my math for the gradients is not exceptionally strong. The Gradient Of Unstructured Data Set filter basically calls the derivative functions of vtkCell, which have been around since the early days of VTK (I think circa mid 1990’s). I’m not saying they can’t be wrong, but I’m not brave enough to change them.

How exactly are you computing wall shear stress in ParaView? Simply finding the grading on the surface would be wrong.

Hi!
First of all thanks for replying so fast, computing derivatives on meshes isn’t my expertise either. In principle, I’m working with 4D Flow data but I wanted to validate my WSS calculating pipeline with a simulation obtained from Ansys Fluent (which I have assumed gives corrects estimates of the WSS, maybe I’m mistaken). I used the velocity gradients to compute the stress tensor in each cell and perform the dot product with the normal of each triangular element as defined in the table below, from this paper.