Help Needed with VTK and ParaView: Converting, Saving, and Rendering 3D Numpy Array

Hi everyone,

I’m a beginner seeking guidance on using VTK and ParaView. I have a specific problem and would appreciate your help.

Objective:

1. Convert a 3D numpy array to a VTI file.
  2. Save the VTI file to the hard drive.
  3. Display the 3D volume in ParaView.
    3.1. Ideally, utilize the GPU for enhanced rendering.

Data:

1. The 3D volume (numpy array) comprises grayscale images.
  2. Image dimensions: 1028 x 1028.
  3. The numpy array is created by stacking consecutive images.

System Details:

• GPU: Nvidia Geforce 3050 ti
  • Kernel: 6.6.7-1-liquorix-amd64 (latest version)

Problem:
Objectives 1 and 2 work as intended using the code provided below. However, ParaView encounters issues rendering my volume. Unless my code or the way I try to render the data is faulty.

Anyways, upon loading the data and changing the representation from outline to volume, I receive the following error message:

ERROR: In ./VTK/Rendering/VolumeOpenGL2/vtkVolumeTexture.cxx, line 948
vtkVolumeTexture (0x55d97d59e950): Capabilities check via proxy texture 3D allocation failed!

Which leaves me with a transparent outline of a box with white borders.

Code for Numpy to VTK Conversion & Local Saving:

Code insipiration comes from this post: here

import vtk
import vtk.util.numpy_support as numpy_support

def numpyToVTK(data, output_file):
    data_type = vtk.VTK_FLOAT
    shape = data.shape

flat_data_array = data.flatten()
    vtk_data = numpy_support.numpy_to_vtk(num_array=flat_data_array, deep=True, array_type=data_type)

img = vtk.vtkImageData()
    img.GetPointData().SetScalars(vtk_data)
    img.SetDimensions(shape[0], shape[1], shape[2])

# Save the VTK file
    writer = vtk.vtkXMLImageDataWriter()
    writer.SetFileName(output_file)
    writer.SetInputData(img)
    writer.Write()

if __name__ == "__main__":