How do I exclude a source from selection in Paraview?

I have two sources open in Paraview. The first is an unstructured VTK grid that defines a surface with data for each of the cells. The second source is a VTK polyline that defines the capacity for the cells.

I am plotting both sets of data to visualize which data points are within the envelope (polyline) and which are outside.

I am new to Paraview and am struggling with selecting data when multiple sources are active. The linked selection between the RenderView and LineChartView works when I have one source active in LineChartView but fails when I have both sources active (see the screenshots below).

I would like to be able to exclude the polyline source from the selection so that when I select points or cells they are highlighted in the other visualization panel. Currently the polyline source appears to be preventing the selection tool from linking selections between the two panels.

If there is a better file format than .vtu and .vtp I am also open to that, but even by adding a programmable filter to the VTU source it breaks the selection tool.

Single Source Selection - Working as intended:

Multiple Source Selection - Selection from left panel is not represented on the right panel:

Crossposted from StackOverflow: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/61224820/how-do-i-exclude-a-source-from-selection-in-paraview

I’m afraid that’s a limitation of the link between render view selection and chart view selection.

A solution may be to use GroupDataSet on all the source you want to display in the chart view

Thanks for the quick turnaround. Is there a file format that would be better suited to storing these different types of data in a single source so that I don’t run into this issue?

Not a file format in itself, but grouping your data into a Multiblock by using GroupDataSets filter may resolve these issues.