How to do an animation from a fluent .cas & .dat (steady simulation) in Paraview 5.10.1?

Hello everyone!

I’m fairly new to Paraview, and I’m having some challenges with doing a simulation when importing fluent data. I have done my fair share of reading, but I just cannot make it work!

flow.case.cas (458.4 KB)
flow.dat (470.8 KB)

I have exported both .cas & .dat from ANSYS Fluent (steady simulation) and I’m able to open it in Paraview only after removing the following statements from the .dat file:

(0 “SV_DPM_PARTITION, domain 1, cell zone 2, 2481 cells:”)
(3300 (420 2 1 0 1 1 2481)
*( *
End of Binary Section 3300))

Now I can preview all parameters that I need, but how can I create an animation in Paraview 5.10.1?

When I open the .cas in Paraview (Using the Fluent Case Reader) I can do the basics (Slice when doing 3D or ‘Reflect’ when importing a 2D symmetric simulation) but I cannot run a simulation on either case nor applying Stream Tracer.

I have also tried using CGNS, and I can do all of the basics too, but no animation.

Please let me know your comments! I could surely use the help!

Thank you!

Please use the last release of ParaView , 5.11.1

how can I create an animation in Paraview

It looks like your data does not contain timesteps.
What would you like to animate ?

I cannot run a simulation

ParaView is not a simulation software. What are you trying to do exactly ?

applying Stream Tracer.

It looks like your data does not contain anything but a surface and no data.

I think you have an data export issue.

Hello Mathieu!

Thank you so much for your prompt response, let me get to your comments right away:

Please use the last release of ParaView , 5.11.1

I’ll migrate to latest release 5.11.1 and try again.

It looks like your data does not contain timesteps.

What would you like to animate ?