How to increase the speed of volume rendering

Hello,

I am new to Paraview and need some assistance in what I can do to reduce the time to do volume rendering.
Firstly my computer specs are:
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
16 GB ram (going to be upgrading to 64 GB soon)
SSD hard drive
Radeon RX 480 8Gb graphic card.

I also have an Apple Mac bookpro (early 2013) with and i7, 16 GB ram, nvidia 650M running Catalina

So what I have done is run the motorBike openfoam case in openfoam.org version 6 and have attempted to do the volume rendering of the velocity of the air for the motorBikeLES results however it takes about a minute to do the rendering on my desktop computer running windows 10 in paraview version 5.7. haven’t tried on in ubuntu. The graphics card is also not showing about 5 % activity during the render while the CPU is running at max ( only one core as I was not running in MPI mode at the time but I will give it a try)

On my mac it can’t do the render in 5.7 however it can do it in 5.6 and it is faster than my desktop.

I have also tried the F-17 tutorial results on my mac and it works better in 5.6 than 5.7.

The motor bike data is 77.2 mb and the F17 data is 17.5 mb.
So I have a couple of questions that I need some assistance on.

1. Is there a video/wiki/tutorial on how to improve the render time while working before a full render is required?
  2. Does the file format make a difference in the rendering time? So should I change the openfoam data to vtk or any other data type?