How to Load data with GDAL

Hi all,

I am just getting started with ParaView and am interested in working with my GIS (Geochemical/Geology/Mining) data. Much is stored in my PostgreSQL/PostGIS database.

I see that ParaView can import/load data using the gdal drivers but I cannot discover how to do it?
Are there any examples of loading data using gdal?

regards,
Phil

Phil,
You’ll need to compile ParaView from source and enable

PARAVIEW_ENABLE_GDAL

You’ll have to have GDAL library installed on your computer so that it can be used by the build.

On my Ubuntu 18.04 I have libgdal-dev installed.

Dan

Dan,
Thanks.
I am on Windows 10 so I will have to read up on what is necessary.
So again any suggestions from the community would be nice.

Phil

Hi @pallen! PVGeo might be a project of interest to you!

I’m the lead developer for PVGeo and I’d be happy to get some feature requests going for your data types and formats! Essentially PVGeo provides a way to rapidly develop new geoscience focused reader and filter algorithms that can be used directly in ParaView’s graphical user interface or in a Python environment with VTK friendly libraries like vtki.

I’ve been using the Python gdal package to load geotiffs into ParaView lately for a project and have it on my agenda to migrate that code into PVGeo. I’d love to hear how you use ParaView for geological/mining data/model visualization!

Hi All,
OK, so I managed to compile Paraview (v5.6.0) with GDAL (and OGR) enabled. At this point, I see .shp files added to the “File Open” dialog, but none of the other GDAL/OGR file types appear to be available. While I could always convert vector stuff from my PostGIS database to .shp files, I’m just wondering of there is some other way of connecting directly to other GDAL/OGR file types that are supported by the library?

Which file extension are your files ?

I see that only tif and shp are added as a file extensions that ParaView knows about.