Missing blocks in animation when using parallel processing

Dear all,

I am using a post process script executed in the HPC of my institution for generating the streaklines of my simulation carried out in a multiblock mesh. I am calling the pvbatch as :

mpiexec -np 6 pvbatch --force-offscreen-rendering $my_script.py

When I run this locally on my laptop (for a small amount of timesteps) it works completely fine but I have been doing some tests on the HPC and as you can see in the attached screenshot, there are missing blocks in the rendering. It is worth to mention that they appear and dissappear and it is not always the same blocks that do that. It doesn’t seem a problem of the particle tracer filter because it tracks the particles motion successfully. It is my first time using this kind of post-process technique so I am not very experienced with this kind of errors when there is not a critical failure in the script.

Thanks in advance!

I don’t know offhand what the issue is, but I wouldn’t discount problems with the particle tracer filter. From your picture, it looks like you have lots of little traces, so the traces might be failing to bridge across partitions in your job. This could be caused by problems with ghost cells in your data. If you have unstructured data, you might try running the Ghost Cells Generator filter.

My suggestion was just a guess, but yeah, that is worth a try.

Well, this leads to a new issue : In my case, I can only apply the “ghost cells” filter after I use the “merge blocks” filter. BUT when I use the particle tracer after the “merge blocks” filter, there are missing seed points in the streaklines that change each time-step :

If calling Merge Blocks then Generate Ghost Cells works (not considering the seed issues), but just calling Merge Blocks does not, then this certainly sounds like issue is that your data is not defining ghost cells correctly. Ultimately, the solution relies on getting correct ghost cells.