Multiple time steps grouping

Hi all,
I am relatively new to paraview, I am sorry if it is a stupid question.
I have multiple vtu files from one transient simulation for time period of 10 sec in the steps of 0.1 seconds. When I am loading those multiple files to paraview they are grouped in datasets each 1 second period. When I am trying to play the simulation in paraview, it plays for the first second and then the picture freezes on last vtu file of the first second, while time continues to run. I have tried to use filters - “group datasets”, but while it is not freezing now, the files are played in some random order.
Please help!

Alina

Capture1

Hi @alina6

The simplest way to fix this is to change your numbering system.

instead of:

files-000.0.ext
files-000.1.ext
files-000.9.ext
files-001.0.ext

you may want to use:

files-0000.ext
files-0001.ext
files-0009.ext
files-0010.ext

If you want to keep the correct time values, then you may want to use a .series files like this:

https://gitlab.kitware.com/paraview/paraview/blob/v5.5.0/Documentation/release/ParaView-5.5.0.md#json-based-new-meta-file-format-for-series-added

Hth

Thank you Mathieu for your reply. I’ve tried changing the numbering system, tried different configurations, but unfortunately it had not worked.

IMG-20230124-WA0013

Regarding .series files, I will have to input manually series of about 100 vtu files (10 groups at least, 10 files each of 0.1 seconds)? May be there is another way?

Thank you in advance,
Alina

If you want to keep the correct time values, then you may want to use a .series files like this:

https://gitlab.kitware.com/paraview/paraview/blob/v5.5.0/Documentation/release/ParaView-5.5.0.md#json-based-new-meta-file-format-for-series-added

Hth

Hello Mathieu. What reader should I choose for opening .vtu.series I have created?
There is no vtkFileSeriesReader in the readers list.