ParticleTracking reinjection and general enquiry

Hello,

I am a full beginner at Paraview, and I just started to play with python for automating tasks (insertion of particle tracers in my domain).

The issue I currently have is that, the Force Reinjection Every Nth Steps does not work for me. Either at 0 it only inject a single particle, or at 1 it injects it every timestep. But I can not get to do it for every 2,3,4,5,etc… time steps… Any reason why?
The only particularity of my case is that I use a TemporalInterpolator, is that an issue? I tried of different cases and always the same issue.

I also use this post to ask a very general question. I found that ParticleTracer on the VtK wiki has a lot of methods that I’d like to use (termination time, start time, etc…) : https://vtk.org/doc/nightly/html/classvtkParticleTracerBase.html

Is there a way to access them? Or is there limitation through python? And if so, what would be the way?

Thank you so much for your time!

Hi @Ouxid , and welcome

The particle tracer is tricky to use indeed.

Could you share your data ? That would make it easier.

Here I tried with some data, and it works well (every 3 timesteps):

Peek 2022-10-27 12-40

The temporal interpolator should not have any effect on the particle tracer when you use its default settings.

The unexposed parameters are indeed not available in ParaView but can be exposed with a XML plugin, not trivial for a beginner though: https://www.paraview.org/Wiki/ParaView/Plugin_HowTo#XML_Only

Best,

Thanks for the quick answer!
I am sorry, I am not sure of which file to include. I exported the pvd and pvsm, but I believe without the mesh it will not be useful?

problemNthStep.pvd (299 Bytes)
problemNthStep.pvsm (793.7 KB)

I made a video to show the issue, if that helps:

https://im2.ezgif.com/tmp/ezgif-2-bec62daf93.gif

Finally, thank you for the XML plugin advice, I will dive into it and try to make it work.

I also need problemNthStep_0_*.vtp

My bad, here they are: