Probing in 2D flow field

Hi,

I am new to Paraview. I am using version 5.8.0. Now I have a 2D flow field in VTK format, when I try to do probing, I cannot get any value from the flow field. So what I do is as following:

1. click “Probe location” button
  2. set my cursor on the flow field, and “Ctrl+P” to pick up the nearest point
  3. “Apply”

as can be seen in the screenshot, that the C11 value should be 1.0, but not zero. And other flow parameters (like U,V,W…) they all have values but not zero.

So is there any thing wrong in my operation? Any suggestions are welcome, thank you.

Hi,

I have the feeling that your data is CellBased, right? If that’s the case, you should click on the “Attribute” drop down list and change “PointData” to “CellData”

Regards

Miguel

Dear Miguel,

Thank you for your reply, it is vertex based… and I tried CellBased as well, but none of them works. If you are willing to help me to check it, do you mind my sending you a .vtk file? It is very small, less than 1MB.

all the best,
Wenqiang

Hello,

Yes, no problem. Can you include your file as an attached file? I will take a look at that.

Regards

Miguel

2d.vtk (625.3 KB)

Dear Miguel,

Thank you so much. I have attached the file here.

kind regards,
Wenqiang

Hi,

Your data is OK. It is a Paraview related issue (I have this problem all the time). In fact, you have to pay attention to the X-coordinate of the probe point. Even though your plane is at X=0, in reality its points have non zero value due tu numerical errors. So, here is what I made:

I place my mouse pointer in the desired region, then I press “CTRL+P”, then click on “Apply” (do not forget to click on Apply). This works fine as you can see in this image:

Please, note that the X-coordinate of the point is NOT zero. Instead it has a very small value. Moreover, this value changes from one point to another.