Programmable filter - eigenvalues/lambda2

I followed this guide in an attempt to get Eigenvalues / Lambda2 calculated by ParaView:

My script looks like this:

import numpy as np
from vtk.numpy_interface import algorithms as algs

input=inputs[0]
Velocity_Vector = input.PointData['velocity']
STRAIN = strain(Velocity_Vector)
V_gradient = gradient(Velocity_Vector)
AAA=STRAIN**2+(V_gradient - STRAIN)**2
print(shape(AAA))
Lambda_2 = np.linalg.eigvals(AAA[:])
Lambda_2 = np.real(Lambda_2)
output.PointData.append(Lambda_2, 'Lambda_2')

Which seems to work up to the line “Lambda_2 = np.linalg.eigvals(AAA[:])”
Here I get the error “numpy.linalg.LinAlgError: 0-dimensional array given. Array must be at least two-dimensional
The shape of AAA is printed as (12058557,3,3)
The input for this filter is point data with a velocity field in vector form.
PV version 5.11.0

I am new to programmable filters and Python in general. A nudge into the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Btw, in case this is an issue of me not working with “numpy arrays”:
I tried various methods with code snippets I found on the internet, to retain the “Velocity_Vector = algs.make_vector(Vx,Vy,Vz)” line from the original. Maybe that makes a difference compared to just importing the velocity vector as-is. So far without success.

For example, I added some calculators earlier in the chain of filters to have the velocity components available as scalars vx, vy, vz.
Changing my script to
input=inputs[0]

Vx = input.PointData["vx"]
Vy = input.PointData["vy"]
Vz = input.PointData["vz"]
print(shape(Vx))
Velocity_Vector = algs.make_vector(Vx,Vy,Vz)

I get the shape of Vx printed as (12058557,)
But the last line throws the error “AttributeError: ‘VTKCompositeDataArray’ object has no attribute ‘shape’”
???

Hi @flotus1

have you tried without the copy operation [:], e.g.

Lambda_2 = np.linalg.eigvals(AAA)

Not sure to understand why the copy is needed here.