Script to take the mean of data-sets

Hi Everybody,
I’m studying a cyclic phenomenon and I have for each period i (for a total of 3 periods), 24 datasets, for a total of 72 datasets. I have to study the data emerging from the period-averaging of such phenomen, such that the resulting dataset representing the time 0 is given by

mean_dataset(1) =  (dataset(1)+dataset(25)+dataset(49) )/3

where the sum is defined as taking the sum of a scalar or vectorial field at the same x,y,z location (or node location, all the datasets have the same mesh )

I think this is a work for a script, since I don’t have to visualize nothing.
For the average of N datasets (if I have to study N periods) I just have have to read 2 datasets at a time (RAM limitation), take their sum divided by N, save result in a temporal dataset, free-up memory space (except the temporal data-set), load next data-set and sum it divided by N to the previous temporal data-set, save this new result in a temporal data-set, free-up space (except the temporal data-set) and so on.
I think this can work, but simply I don’t know how to access field data in a coherent manner to perform sum at the same node location and how to free-up space.

Thank you in advance for your help

TemporalStatistics ?

The problem is that I cannot read all time-steps at once…

The TemporalStatistics filter will not read in all time-steps at once. Rather, it will read in each time step one at a time and accumulate statistics like mean.

To apply temporal statistics I have to individually load the data-set corresponding to the same phase-angle and successively apply the temporal statistics filter. So I’m opening, at once, all files associated with the same phase-angle.