Scripting animation confusion

I’m new to ParaView, but have managed to put together some Python scripts to render nice views of my data. One of the scripts has a phase option, and sweeping the phase through 2*pi radians makes a pretty animation. I’d like to be able to generate a movie of the animation. What I have figured out how to do is produce a bunch of screenshots that I can stitch together externally:

# I'm running this script in the Python Shell.
    # I've already loaded some .py files that read my data and
    # define the stimulus() function referenced below.
    animation=GetAnimationScene()
    animation.StartTime=0.0
    animation.EndTime=1.0
    animation.NumberOfFrames=20
    animation.PlayMode='Sequence'
    # view is the render view that is being updated
    animation.ViewModules=[view]
    animation.GoToFirst()
    i=0
    while True:
      if animation.AnimationTime == animation.EndTime:
        break
      # stimulus is a function that I've written that does some
      # computations for the given phase and re-renders view
      stimulus([1, 0], phase=animation.AnimationTime*2*pi)
      # I can save screenshots like and stitch them together, but
      # it would be nice if I could generate a movie file directly.
      SaveScreenshot("movie%02d.png"%(i), view)
      i+=1
      animation.GoToNext()
    # This doesn't do what I want; the "movie" is just a static image
    # SaveAnimation("movie.avi")

I think I’m looking for something along the lines of a “SaveAnimationFrame” to be called instead of SaveScreenshot that would take the rendered view and squirrel it away so that SaveAnimation would produce an animated file. I tried adding a Python cue to the animation and calling stimulus() in the tick function, but it doesn’t seem to be defined there (it’s like the script in the cue is running in a separate interpreter).

I’d not recommend using SaveAnimation, as the codec we use is very bad, atm.