Slicing with a Cone

Dear Paraview users,

First of all I would like to point out that I am a beginner in Paraview, therefore please excuse my lack of depth in the field.

I am dealing with a vtk file which contains the (x, y, z) components of a current density vectorial field that is defined within a rectangular box. What I would like to do is to slice that input data, not with a plane or the other available slice types, but with a Cone strategically placed.
The actual set of data is pretty heavy, so in order to illustrate my problem, I built a dummy set of data:

Let’s assume that the dots represent a component of the current density field within space. In a nutshell I am trying to extract the components of that field that lie on the surface of the Cone.
I am a bit puzzled on to how to attack this problem properly. I did try a few things around the Resample to Dataset filter but without any success.

Any advice or help is welcome !

Hello,

If you really want to sample the field data onto a cylinder, the cylinder filled with isotropic mesh would be preferable. However, creating an isotropic mesh in ParaView is somewhat difficult. So, an easy way is to firstly make the cylinder isotropically refined with external tools like
instant-meshes. Then load it into ParaView and perform resampling operation.

For your reference I attached a cylinder mesh and state file:
map_to_cone.zip (96.7 KB)

Hi Kenichiro,

Thank you for your answer !
I will sure give it a try as it seems pretty straightforward.

I have an extra question at this stage :

• As it is very unlikely that the two meshes coincide perfectly, what will happen during the resampling operation ?
    => Case 1: Certain nodes of the cone’s mesh do not have any data point from the input field that fall onto it.
    => Case 2: The contrary, that is to say a data point from the field is present on the Cone’s theoretical surface but does not coincide with a node of the Cone’s mesh.