SteamVR API

Hi! I’m a student working on a project for CERI labs. They have a couple of VR scenes setup in ParaView using OpenVR and SteamVR. We have been asked to implement haptic feedback into the controllers during the scenes. One branch of research discovered that SteamVR has an API that should have tools for what we need. I have never worked with an API before, so forgive me if I sound naive here. That said, does anyone know how to access the SteamVR API from a ParaView script? The script would have to run during an animation.

Hi @wgharper,

I guess @mwestphal or @tgalland can have some inputs regarding OpenVR :slightly_smiling_face:

Do you mean OpenVR or OpenXR ? SteamVR implements both and both should be usable in this context.

I have never worked with an API before, so forgive me if I sound naive here.

Its just a C++ library with a clearly defined and documented interface

That said, does anyone know how to access the SteamVR API from a ParaView script?

You can’t. ParaView has a XRInterface plugin that can be accessed through the UI but there is no python bindings.

Even if they were, you would not be able to access OpenVR or OpenXR from python anyway.

If I understand well, you are looking to add haptic feedback to interaction in VR in ParaView.
This is a great project but not a small one, and it should be done in the XR interaction layer in VTK, using C++.

Best of luck, we can help guide you if needed.

Thank you, this has allowed us to finally move past this idea and focus on more productive areas of development.