Two axes of rotation

Greetings Paraview users,

I am new to Paraview but I expect there is a long future in front of me.
I looked hard for a clear answer but I couldn’t find any. I hope I am not asking something obvious.
I simply want to render a basic gearbox with two gears as an animation. However, using the Transform Filter I can only rotate the input around the Global coordinate axes so the question is:
can we have two different axes of rotation or is there a different workaround in order to animate rotating gears?

Thank you for your answer!

Cristian

I’m not sure how that is supposed to work. How is ParaView supposed to know what is one gear and what is another gear?

If you can separate the two gears into separate objects, then it is trivial to transform each separately.

For me as a beginner it is not trivial because I cannot specify that each gear must rotate around its own axis of rotation. Like the title says, is it possible to have two axes of rotation? I could only find the Transform Filter which takes the global XYZ. I need two different coordinate systems. Is it possible to create different coordinate systems or specify a different axis of rotation?
P. S. I am using v. 5.9.1

I may not be understanding your question. As near as I can tell, you are asking one of two questions.

Question 1: You are loading a single file, such as gears.stl that contains 2 gears, and you want to apply separate transforms for each of the gears. ParaView cannot do this because it doesn’t know what a “gear” is. You first have to split the data into two objects. There might be ways to do this, but we would have to know more about your data.