VTK "Structured Points" Procedure

Hello,

I am completely new to this so please feel free to refer me to an existing response/post. I have, however, searched the forum and not found what I am looking to do…

I am importing data from a CSV in a X-Y-Z-Sig1-Sig3-Strain-Etc… format but the grid is not regular (tighter points in the center and more spaced away from center). I am looking to produce a VTK with “structured points” (binary or ascii) – this is required for another software (Voxler).

a) Is this VTK (the one I am trying to output) referred to as a 3D uniform lattice?
b) How would I use Paraview to interpolate between my unregular grid to produce the structured points VTK?
c) How can I export the result from Paraview to VTK?
d) Could I use Python to execute these operations in batch (read CSV, interpolate, and export to VTK)?

I appreciate your help.
Sincerely.

a) Is this VTK (the one I am trying to output) referred to as a 3D uniform lattice?

First, some semantics:

• VTK is the Visualization ToolKit, a visualization library.
  • vtk file or .vtk is a (legacy) file format used by VTK to store data on disk, like csv, it can store most of the type of datasets VTK can handle, including 3D uniform lattice.
  • VTK support many different type of datasets, the one you are looking for is vtkUniformGrid, I believe.
  • A more modern approach is to store 3D unifrom lattice in .vti file, not .vtk

b) How would I use Paraview to interpolate between my unregular grid to produce the structured points VTK?
c) How can I export the result from Paraview to VTK?

Here is how to “convert” a unregular set of points in a .csv into a regular grid stored in a .vtk file (or .vti) :

• Open you .csv with ParaView, make sure to confiugre it correctly, Apply
  • Add a TableToPoints filter, configure the X, Y, Z correctly, Apply
  • Add a RessempleToImage filter, Apply
  • File → SaveData into a .vtk (or .vti) file