[A note of thanks] Using catalyst on PLUTO finite volume astrophysical Magnetohydrodynamics code

@Andy_Bauer @utkarsh.ayachit @mwestphal @Francois_Mazen @nicolas.vuaille @cory.quammen
A huge shoutout to the people in ParaView discourse for all the help. I have been able to implement Catalyst for in-situ visualization in PLUTO. This is a fixed grid finite volume astrophysical Magnetohydrodynamics code. I’m a beginner on Catalyst, Conduit and Ascent frameworks and this was an exciting one week of learning to be able to get this working. It wouldn’t have been possible without the timely help from the people here.

What I had to do in
CatalystAdaptor.h (10.1 KB):

• Rectilinear and uniform mesh blueprint for conduit were good in setting up grid data in Cartesian coordinates (I’ll check after vtk bug with conduit io rectilinear grid gets fixed in the next paraview release).
  • With spherical/cylindrical coordinates, I had to use unstructured grid after transformation to Cartesian (code attached). The standard example provided assumed x-y-z data order to define the connectivity. I had rewrite that for z-y-x order as highlighted below. As long as the grid is static (or simply expanding/contracting) this connectivity needs to be calculated only once for the entire simulation duration and stored as a static variable (array) saving redundant calculations.
for(k=0; k<grid->np_tot[KDIR]; k++)
  {
    for(j=0; j<grid->np_tot[JDIR]; j++)
    {
      for(i=0; i<grid->np_tot[IDIR]; i++)
      { 
        //cell_count = k * grid->np_tot[IDIR] * grid->np_tot[JDIR] + j * grid->np_tot[IDIR] + i;
        CellConn[counter++] =     k * numPoints[JDIR]*numPoints[IDIR] +     j * numPoints[IDIR] + i; 

CellConn[counter++] = (k+1) * numPoints[JDIR]*numPoints[IDIR] +     j * numPoints[IDIR] + i;

CellConn[counter++] = (k+1) * numPoints[JDIR]*numPoints[IDIR] + (j+1) * numPoints[IDIR] + i;

CellConn[counter++] =     k * numPoints[JDIR]*numPoints[IDIR] + (j+1) * numPoints[IDIR] + i;;