Drawing grain boundaries

Hello team,

I am relatively new to using Paraview, so pardon my ignorance.

I have a bunch of *.pvtu files containing grain IDs and I want to draw grain boundaries between them as shown here.

How can I do this? FYI, I am using paraview on windows 10.

Thanks in advance,
Raghunandan.

Hi @rnp,

Is it possible for you to share the data on this thread?

Kind regards

Julien

Hi @jfausty ,

Thank you for your response. My data is very huge. So, I am sharing a drive link with one time step. I hope this works.

Thanks in advance,
Raghunandan.

Hi @rnp,

Thanks for the data. I managed to download it and open it up in ParaView with a colleague.

I do believe there is an issue with the data however, It seems like you’re data is somehow segmented in every file. The “Connectivity” filter calculates the mesh connectivity of a data set (i.e. which domains are path connected) and it outputs this image when run on solution-00.000.vtu of your dataset:

It finds a multiply connected domain when it should be one whole mesh. This is most likely why the filters are not working properly.

You’re data also looks like it is very well structured and might not need the flexibility (and heavy memory constraint) of an unstructured grid. My advice to you would be to do some pre-processing of your data to turn it into a monolithic image data (sample.vti). You can find documentation on file formats here: https://kitware.github.io/vtk-examples/site/VTKFileFormats/.

Once you have this file, running the contour filter on your “GrainId” field on a range of values (each value in between one GrainId and the next) you should be able to visualize your grain boundaries.

I hope this helps!

Kind regards,

Julien

Hello @jfausty ,

Thank you for your detailed response. I use deal.ii and generate *pvtu/*vtu files from that. I don’t think I can shift to an structured grid as in some time steps I will have huge distortions. Below is the initial grid: