How to slice with Cone surface or Revolution shape

Hi everyone,

I mainly use ensight to analyze my computation results. (CFD results).

I don’t have access to Ensight anymore, so I have to use paraview. I don’t know Paraview very well. Let’s say I’m a beginner.

To measure the massflow rate through different holes, I have to slice with a cone type surface and a revolution type surface.

This type of surface exists in ensight (cone, frustum, revolution) but I didn’t find this possibility in paraview. I didn’t find any information on the internet either.

Could you tell me how to make a cut with this kind of slice type : cone, frustum and revolution ?

In advance, thank you :slight_smile:

Welcome to ParaView, @Haris!

The Slice filter has several Slice Types (Plane, Box, Sphere, Cylinder), but not the types you mention. A cone and perhaps frustum function could be added without too much trouble. Surface of revolution may not quite fit in the Slice filter framework.

As a workaround, you can resample datasets onto arbitrary surfaces using the Resample With Dataset filter. First, you’ll need to create the cone, frustum, or revolution surface. The cone can be created with the Cone source in the sources menu. Place the cone by altering the cone parameters. Second, create the Resample With Dataset filter. When you create it, you will have to set its two inputs. “Source Data Arrays” is the dataset that should be resampled onto the cone, and “Destination Mesh” should be the cone.

HTH!

1 Like

Hi Corry !

First of all, thank you for your (quick) reply ! :+1:

Here are my answers to your proposal:

1/ The Resample With Dataset feature doesn’t work on my case. See the picture attached

2/ I’m not sure Resample With Dataset answers my problem. Let me explain:

• The result of Resample With Dataset gives me a new 3D solution
  • I’m only interested in the intersection of a cone and my 3D solution