Make a cross-section with DEM

Hello, I am a student studying geophysics.

I’m using Paraview to make a geophysical map, and I have a question.

As shown in the example below, I would like to plot a profile standing on the z-axis with the DEM.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CdqfswyDJp8/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

I have a DEM and an image file with coordinates.

I tried to use geotiff, but I’m looking for another way because I don’t think it’s the right way.

Could you tell me the right way?

Geophysics, great choice! :grinning:

To show profile-images you can use geotiff or load your image as texture to a plane.
I haven’t used geotiff for a long time but I remember, that it was necessary to set position and scaling in the properties panel because the coordinate file was not used by the reader (may have changed in newer ParaView versions or my file could have had a wrong format, who knows…).
Usually, we create a .vtp file defining the plane on which the image is then shown as texture (the texture image can be loaded in the properties of the plane). For a straight plane without crinkles it may be easier to just create a plane source instead of writing a vtp file.

Good luck and cheers,
Venke

Thank you for your answer, Venke!

I looked up what you said and I think it’s called “vertical coordinates”, right?

And what other tools do you think I should use besides paraview to do what I want?

Hej Eungsang,