Steps to calculate the Euler characteristics and Betti number

Hi all,
Any one who help me to calculate the Euler characteristics and Betti number of a 3D object using TTK on ParaView? Thanks

@Charles_Gueunet ?

@kokebdese There is an … overkill way to do it.
The Discrete Sandwich module compute them and print them when the debug level is high enough (4 or more)

Then, in the execution log (visiblie in the terminal launching ParaView), you will have the corresponding section:

Which corresponds to the first Betti numbers.

From my memory, there is a simpler way to compute them in 3D as in a simplicial complex, by playing with the number of connected components, vertices, edges, triangles and tetra, as well a the Euler characteristics, you just have some addition / subtraction to do.

@Charles_Gueunet, Thank you for interesting answer, however, what is Discrete Sandwich module? As I am new to the ParaView, I need to know how to get that. Thanks!

@kokebdese no problem :slight_smile:

Do you have TTK enabled on your ParaView ?

Tools > Manage Plugins…

Once it is done, you should be able to access TTK filters, including the TTKPersistenceDiagram one.
As you can see in my first anwer, the TTKPersistenceDiagram filter has a Backend option which by default is set to Discrete Morse Sandwich. This is the backend used for the computation of the persistence pairs, which record the most topological events. This module is also used in other TTK filters, so you may encounter this options in others filters while playing around. This module compute and print the Betti number when the debug level is 4 or more.

@Charles_Gueunet. Thank you for your continuous support.