stl file tied to motions time series

I would like to have a stl file (which represents a solid rigid) which follows the motions of another rigid object attached to it, for which I have time history of the displacement. Is there a simple way to do it?

Not simple but may be doable with the animation view, especially the “python” mode of it.

Another way to look at it is to use a glyph instead, you can show you stl as a “glyph” on a point which is attached to your rigid.

Thanks a lot for your answer. I am quite new to paraview. How would you impose a motion to a glyph?

Could you share your data so I can give you an example ?

I attach the stl file; I would like the (0,0,0) of the stl file to follow a time series in six DOF. How would it be better to send you the time series of the six degrees of freedom?

(Attachment WINDMOOR_vis.stl is missing)

Nothing got attached.

Here is an example:
data:
https://data.kitware.com/api/v1/file/5afd93688d777f15ebe1b48a/download
cow.vtp (59.0 KB)

state file:
state.pvsm (416.3 KB)

Result:
Peek 2022-09-14 10-42

Hi,

That is exactly what I want, but I am not able to load the state… what were the steps you followed?

Thanks again,

Irene

Which version of ParaView are you using ?

I tried with both 5.9.1 and 5.10.1

Steps for 5.10.1

• run ParaView
  • open can.ex2, Apply
  • open cow.vtp, Apply, hide the cow
  • Using selection tools, select a single point on the red part of the can
  • Extract Selection, Apply
  • Change the representation of the ExtractSelection to “3D Glyphs”
  • Instead of Arrow, Choose pipeline connection as the glyph type (in display properties)
  • Choose the cow as the actual glyph
  • Press play to play the animation

hth

Great, thanks a lot! I almost managed! The only thing is that this way my ‘glyph’ (the blue object) translated with the white line, but it does not rotate… do you know a way?