2D contour from .csv

Hello,

I am very new to the use of ParaView and have run into a problem. I am trying to do a simple rendering of a 2D plot (xy) with the z-values indicated by contours. I have the data in three columns (x, y and z) in a .csv file. I open the .csv file and use the filters “Table To Points” and “Delaunay 2D” as I have read suggestions for in previous similar topics (https://public.kitware.com/pipermail/paraview/2013-September/029217.html and https://public.kitware.com/pipermail/paraview/2012-May/024841.html) BUT after doing this, I am still not able to access the “Contour” filter as seen from the screenshot below. What am I missing?

Thanks,
Louise

I’m a little confused by what you mean by the contours you want to see and by “z-values indicated by contours.” Do you mean you want to see contours like you see on a topographic map with curves on a flat surface?

Yes something like contours on a topographic map - contours on a flat surface. Ideally I would like contour lines with different colours or maybe preferable with colour filling between the lines somewhat like what’s in the screenshot below.

The x, y and z values I have are simply this (image below) - x in first column, y in second column and then I would like to have values of the third column represented by different colours like the image above or with contour lines / isosurfaces.

OK. What you are describing is not actually contours but rather the coloring of a flat surface. So the first think you need to do is change how you are using Table To Points to generate a flat surface rather than the raised surface. (You are actually making a 3D surface plot, which is useful in its own right, but not what you are asking for.) To do this, turn on the 2D Points option on the Table To Points filter. The Z Column options will then be ignored and all the points will be placed in the x-y plane, which is once you want.