About integration of CFSReader

I’m a developer of the free coupled field FEM and structural optimization tool openCFS https://www.opencfs.org
It originates in academia and is now free and open (MIT-License). Our data format is based on hdf5 and we used to have an own reader since paraview 3.x.

The reader has some useful features in handling complex valued datasets, transforming harmonic results to time animations, … - so it is slightly more than just reading data.

While I always have issues in bringing the plugin and paraview together, it all compiles and runs smoothly when this is done (just now with PV 10 on arm64 macOS). Especially for the three platforms Linux, Windows and macOS this is always a hassle.

My aim is to make our CFSReader part of the official paraview distribution and I’d like to start a discussion on this.

What makes things more complicated, is, that we are using the vtkMultiBlockDataSet which seems to be planned to be depreciated soon?

I’m ready to attempt to migrate this when this is ultimately necessary and clearly understand that the reader would be removed from paraview if I do not succeed with that. However having at least one official paraview binary with CFSReader would already be a great help and benefit.

So I have two questions:

1. what is the way to bring our reader for openCFS to the official paraview release
  2. is our current usage of vtkMultiBlockDataSet a show stopper?

Hi and welcome @Fabian !

what is the way to bring our reader for openCFS to the official paraview release

The would depend on the dependencies of your reader. If there is none, it can be trivial with a simple MR into VTK/ParaVIew or into a ParaView plugin.

is our current usage of vtkMultiBlockDataSet a show stopper?

Definitelly not, while a transition to partitioned dataset will be needed at some point, integrating an existing code using multiblock is fine. I’d advocate to put your reader into a ParaView plugin in that case though.