ParaView Freezes on start - Windows 10

Hello,

I’m beggining OpenFoam and trying to see some results on ParaView.
I’ve installed the ParaView-5.7.0-RC4-Windows-Python3.7-msvc2015-64bit, but it freezes right after opening.
This appears and then it freezes and closes byitself - a kind of force close.

paraview%20error

I’ve python 3.7.4 installed, AMD Radeon 7400M and Intel HD Graphics 3000
Open GL 6.14.10.13399
Direct 3D 9.14.10.01128
Catalyst 15.7.1

I think it could be something related to the graphics switching, i’m still trying, but I would apreciate a lot if anyoune could help.

Thanks in advance

Try right-clicking on ParaView and say ‘run with graphics processor’ (I think that’s the right wording) and select your AMD card. I’m not sure why your are seeing an error about ANGLE - that seems strange.

Thanks for the reply,
I forced the application to run under high performance on AMD configuration, but it still crashing.

First of all, I have little experience but had fantastic service from PV 5.4.1 before recent changes to FreeCAD (0.18). Similar problem. I can start PV 5.4.1.1 but cannot open a file. It just hangs up if I try to open or indeed do anything from the menu bar. All I can then do is end task from task manager. I installed PV 5.7.0 and it works but having problems using it. Getting 5.4.1 working would be a big help.

@mcrossleyuk : please open your own thread.

@AlexandreMagnolc : could you try with mesa ?

paraview-mesa paraview from a console.

Sorry, all new to me and don’t understand. I am logged into the forum as mcrossleyuk. How do I “open my own thread”. Happy to learn :slight_smile:

https://discourse.paraview.org/c/paraview-support and click on “New Topic”.

Thanks, done that. Lesson #1 :slight_smile:

nothing “command not found” or “not an internal command”

My bad, windows release does not support mesa.

Are you able to run other opengl applications ? Qt Applications ?

You also could try to use pvpython and see if this fails or not.